Summer, Sangria & my Sweetie

I should preface by sharing that I am a huge lover of all things wine. One of my favorite trips was with Austin when we visited the Texas Hill Country “Wine Road.” I should also state that it is not uncommon to spot me sipping a glass of chardonnay in the evening or Googling sweet sangria recipes. As much as I find pleasure in lounging on the couch doing such activities, I would much rather be at a local winery.

My family spends many summer nights relaxing in our folding chairs at Jasper Winery, and it is safe to say it is our home away from home. It doesn’t truly feel like summertime until we have savored some JW sangria. Thanks to the Des Moines Register, below are the recipes for the beloved red and white sangria I love so much!

Be Better at Everything: How to make summer sangria

Red sangria
Ingredients:
– 2 bottles semi-sweet red wine (like Jasper’s Bed Head Red)
– 2 bottles semi-sweet white wine (such as Edelweiss)
– 1 12-ounce can apple and cherry frozen juice concentrate
– 1 two-liter bottle of Sprite or ginger ale
Directions: Mix all ingredients together and add any fresh fruit you like, such as apple and orange wedges. Serve over ice.

Pink sangria (called ‘Contagious’ at the winery)
Ingredients:
– 1 bottle semi-sweet rose or Zinfandel wine (like Jasper’s Front Porch)
– 1 can frozen strawberry daiquiri concentrate
– 1 can water (just fill your now-empty strawberry daiquiri container)
Directions: Mix all ingredients together and chill. Add fresh strawberries.

Peach sangria (Jasper Winery created this refreshing recipe for a wedding, but doesn’t serve it regularly)
Ingredients:
– 3 parts Riesling or Edelweiss wine
– 1 part peach Schnapps
– 1 part Sprite
Directions: Mix all ingredients together, top with fresh or frozen peaches.

Austin and I enjoying a lovely evening at Jasper Winery in Des Moines, Iowa.
Austin and I enjoying a lovely evening at Jasper Winery in Des Moines, Iowa.
Leave a Reply

