Trash = Treasure

This creative couch crafted from an old boat stood out to me at West End.
This creative couch crafted from an old boat stood out to me at West End.

The phrase, “One man’s trash is another man’s treasure,” was made very clear to me today as my best friend and I ventured through West End Architectural Salvage in downtown Des Moines. Heard of West End? They are featured on the DIY Network.

Born and raised in the capital of Iowa, I am disappointed I had never explored the shop before. It has four floors, plus a basement workshop. Another perk of the place? It has a full menu coffee shop, and they serve wine and beer too!

“Our goal at West End is to insure that Des Moines residents have a successful search of ‘salvaged’ items from larger cities and foreign countries.”

Whether you are in the area or not, I recommend checking out the story behind the shop (Don Short, owner, seems like one cool dude), as well as explore the “five stories of treasures” here!

Leave a Reply

