The Power of the Written Word

As my last post emphasized, I am a big fan of continuing education and that includes personal development reading. I find peace curling up in my favorite yellow sweatshirt with a good book in hand. Sometimes I prefer novels that enable me to escape from my day-to-day life, and other times, I gravitate toward books which will open my eyes to how I can improve my health, my career, my faith, and most importantly, my outlook on life.

Growing up, I would walk down the stairs in the morning and spot my mother sitting in the living room engrossed in a paperback. Come bedtime, I would see her doing the same activity snuggled up in bed. As I got older, I noticed her habit became my habit. I begin and end each day reading a couple chapters of most likely a book my mother has recommended to me.

Being a journalism major, I fully believe in the power of the written word. It allows us to connect with people whom we may never meet. I am currently reading The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling, the author of the well-known Harry Potter saga, and I am about 99.9% sure I will never meet this woman and hear first hand how and why she crafted this novel. Reading the book is my bond with her. The ink on the pages is how she shares the inner workings of her creative noggin with readers.

Try and tell me how this form of communication is not impressive, and I will fire back with a whole list of reasons to support my case. At this point in time, I feel overwhelmed with choosing a career path, and I am seeking out books which will challenge, energize and strengthen me as a young professional. I stumbled upon this post titled, “Career Books Every Woman Needs to Read,” by Amanda Pouchot with Levo League. I am looking forward to reading #2, “The Best Advice I Ever Got: Lessons from Extraordinary Lives,” by Katie Couric.

I hope this post prompts you to seek out reading material, whether it be print or electronic, that will teach you a thing or two and broaden your horizons!

Leave a Reply

