THE PROPOSAL.

Happy Saturday, friends!
Peaceful, content, and serene are three words that perfectly describe my mood on this sunshiney morning. A steamy cup of java and a never-before-seen episode on HGTV, which is a rare occurrence for this Fixer Upper addict, are keeping me company. With job searching and wedding planning on my seemingly never-ending to-do list, quiet weekend mornings snuggled up in Pottery Barn blankets with the opportunity to blog my little heart out is true bliss. I finally feel like I have the time to sit down and share the story of Austin and my engagement which occurred on April 18, 2015, in Jupiter, Florida!

To begin, I would like to preface with the fact that Austin is a chemical engineer. He is incredibly analytical and has far fewer creative bones in his body than this Pinterest-loving, former sorority gal right here. When we would discuss getting engaged in the far future, he always expressed his concern of coming up with the perfect proposal.

As noted in a previous post, we originally surprised my brother by flying down to Florida with my parents. Little did I know that I would get the biggest surprise of my life as well. On Friday evening, the night before the proposal, Austin and my dad went for a walk on the beach while my mom and I got ready for our dinner plans. This didn’t seem out of the ordinary in the slightest. I later found out that while I was blow-drying my hair and applying my tinted moisturizer, they were deciding on the ideal spot in which Austin would drop to one knee and ask me to be his wife.

The following day began with a sunrise run along the beach with my dad. Father, daughter time had been a rarity as I had been living hundreds of miles away in Houston the past year. Afterwards, we went over to my brother’s apartment to spend the day poolside. There ended up being an unexpected luau complete with Hawaiian dancers and all!

After spending a few hours soaking up the sun, we returned to our condo. My dad had been raving about Juno Beach which was less than a mile down the road, and he was eager to show it to us. My dad thoroughly enjoys playing tour guide so again I found this to be a normal request. I donned my favorite running shorts and an Iowa State tank (Go Cyclones!), and we (Austin, my parents and myself) were on our way to sandy shores.

The sun was about to set, and I requested my parents take a quick photo of us for me to share on Instagram (again super normal). After snapping the picture, I no longer felt Austin next to me. I turn around and find the love of my life down on one knee with the sun going down behind him. It felt like a dream as he asked me to marry him. Austin could not have done a single thing better. He included the most important people in my life, in a place where my brother was close by to celebrate, with the sun setting on my newly bronzed skin. He had picked out a ring better than I could have dreamt.

After taking some fun “we are engaged!!” photos on the beach, we sought out a local sports bar and cheers-ed with a skinny margarita and Blue Moon. It was so us. I cannot believe I get to marry my best friend, and I am so thankful he taught my parents how to record a video on his cell phone as we now have the best question I have ever been asked on tape! Talk about a smooth move, right? He is definitely a keeper (even though he had been holding onto the ring since March 2014!).

Thank you for taking the time to read about our special moment, and I hope it brought a smile to your face which is the purpose behind my blog in its entirety.

Today, let’s believe in fairytales! 

Leave a Reply

